Need for CE Mark - Clarification please

Crusader

Trusted Information Resource
I am just learning about CE. Have seen it everywhere all my life but now I am asked to check into getting our product certified...based on a customer request for our CE certificate. We don't have one.

Scenario:
we sell products, all over the world, that contain electrical components to roll up or down our product. The electrical components are CE / UL certified. We buy those electrical components - we don't make those electrical things. We simply assemble them into our product.

Question:
Do we need a CE certificate?

TIA!:thanks:

Last edited:
R

Rickser

I can't answer whether you need it or not. In our experience, our customer required a CE certificate for a product. In was a long drawn out process. Send me a private message and I will give you our POC info. She is the expert on this stuff.

CharlieUK

Quite Involved in Discussions
It doesn't matter what components you build your system out of, what matters is what you build.

If your product is covered by one or more CE marking directives then you have to assemble a Technical File, perform necessary assessment, raise a DoC and fix the CE mark. If what you build isn't covered, you don't.
If you've got some electronics and/or mains power then chances are you need to CE mark your product and you can't just do CE+CE=CE.
Also, CE marking is not "customer decided" - it doesn't matter what they want, CE marking if EU/national legislation imposed on manufacturers.

If you provide some more information on your product, or point us at a similar product, I'm sure you'd get some more information.

Crusader

Trusted Information Resource
It doesn't matter what components you build your system out of, what matters is what you build.

If you provide some more information on your product, or point us at a similar product, I'm sure you'd get some more information.

Here we go: