New ILAC Requirements Regarding Repeatability - Your thoughts on this please

Jerry Eldred

Forum Moderator
Super Moderator
Okay, I have precious little time to spend on this topic, and I must confess that I am not an MU expert. I am reading the new ILAC document (P14:12/2010) regarding new clarified requirements for uncertainty.

On the one hand, it requires including repeatability and suggests reproducibility. But on the other hand, it says to exclude significant contributions from the unit under test (UUT). In things such as digital multi-meters, when calculating uncertainties using best available UUT, and lets say for example the accredited standard is a Fluke 5720A, and a best available UUT might be something like an Agilent 34401A (not quite 4:1 on everything).

And let me throw in the caviat that we have Agilent 3458A's and Fluke 8508A's. But since the 5720A is not good enough to calibrate a 3458A or 8508A, it doesn't seem reasonable to use them for doing repeatability experiements.

All that said, if I then use a 34401A for the repeatability tests, I believe the 34401A may contribute the majority of the repeatability (??). So if I have what ever amount of non-repeatability... lets say for example I do a set of connect/disconnect/STBY/OPER at 10 VDC with the 5720A connected to the 34401A using good 5440 cables. I do a set of 20 readings, and for the sake of discussion (I'm making up numbers for this discussion) I have a 2 Sigma value of 0.00003 VDC. So if this number is likely instability/non-repeatability of the 34401A multi-meter, it should not be included, and should be so stated in the uncertainty budget.