New to Metrology and told to complete Gage R&R with AIAG compliant software

B

Brackish

Hello All.

Long story short. I have been a CMM arm operator for the past year and now I have to run the Metrology department. But this has come at the worst possible time.
I have been asked to find an AIAG compliant software to complete the Gage R&R and MSA study for TS 16949.

It is to my understanding that there is not a program for the GR&R but an AIAG compliant template (.xls) and then there is software for the MSA (minitab?).

The way I have perceived what has been asked of me is that I need to complete the GR&R and then run the MSA on the results. So from that I think I need the template and then to run the GR&R's on our equipment then complete an MSA? What has really got me worried is that we are on re run from the Auditors in 1 month.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated so I can approach my Manager with confidence of pending failure!

Regards,
Brackish

B

Brackish

Re: New to Metrology and told to complete Gage R&R

Thank you Miner. :thanks:

The info you have provided is a great starting point. I tried to explain it to my manager but time is what we do not have. Far as I can see I can not and certainly should not rush this. 1 month is not enough to correct all actions from the audit report including GRR's for all measuring equipment.

Golfman25

Trusted Information Resource

My advice is to start drinking. :)

There are some commercial packages out there which will do the Gage R&R. We use gagepack, which also handles our calibration.

Good luck. You're going to need it.

Hershal

Metrologist-Auditor
Trusted Information Resource

Others more qualified have commented on the GR&R, so I won't.