Old Time Scatter diagrams for defect type and location- software

IRONPOORER

Starting to get Involved
I work in the cast metals industry. In it we use a lot of hand written worksheets detailing defects on a part. Back in the day, you'd take several pics, copy over an ABC-123 grid over it, print them and pass them out. Inspectors would note with an letter the location and defect type. We still do that, now with wire-frame views, or isometric views to determine locations, filled in on paper, then entered into an excel spreadsheet.
What I would like is some software that I can just take the cursor, hover over the defect area and type a defect code (P=porosity, G= gas, and so on) and have it show the data on a view of the part with grid, then also have it export it to a spreadsheet.

Ideas?

Steve Prevette

Deming Disciple
Leader
Super Moderator
You could set the picture as a "background" in excel, and then have someone type into the cells the defect, such as attached. Then you would just have to determine what cell goes with what location.

My father was a grey iron casting guy.

Attachments

• Defect Log.xlsx
    80.3 KB · Views: 409

IRONPOORER

Starting to get Involved
Thanks. I've done that and it works. Not sure if there's software for what I want, probably not a great market demand I suppose...plus I don't want to spend 20K for it.
Not many people grow up and 'want[' to be Foundry guys, but they have provided me a good living for many years, and I know a whole lot of dads that have put their kids thru college working in a foundry. To me there is something magical about taking 50 tons of scrap steel and iron, tons of silica sand and turning them into precision engine blocks, heads, brake rotors and discs... Plus I rarely if ever do the exact same thing two days in a row.

IRONPOORER

Starting to get Involved