One site of multi-site company closing - Quality transfer issues

Aaria

Involved In Discussions
Hello,

In a start-up company set-up, with corporate quality in US and a component mfring/some R&D function at a site in EU - what are the points to consider for quality transfer? The site is closing and we are trying to put together all the cross-functional projects and systems to be transferred in a transition plan. What is the first thing as a quality manager I should be looking at? What is the standard industry practice for closing an mfring site?

Note: The product has a CE mark but is not on the market.

Thanks,
Aaria

Elsmar Forum Sponsor

normzone

Trusted Information Resource
Re: Site closing - quality transfer issues

You didn't mention the nature of the product line.

My experience is limited in these matters, but I did witness an FDA audit once of a very simple product. All would have been good, except that in the transfer of ownership from the origin source to the new owner, no design records were included. This made things very entertaining (for me as an observer-for-hire)

I would rather have everything I could lay my hands on, pertinent or not, than have to explain later why I could not provide something so basic.

BoardGuy

Quite Involved in Discussions
Re: Site closing - quality transfer issues

When making the transfer you should assure the following:

• Detailed task based plan with milestones for the transfer
  • Transfer risks are identified, assessed and mitigation plan developed
  • Last Article inspections are performed at existing source/location
  • First Article inspections are performed at new source/location
  • Appropriate procedures, work instructions and specifications etc. are transferred and placed under control of new source/location
  • Appropriate records are transferred and place under control by new source/location
  • Training of company personnel is performed at the new source/location by existing source/location.

Aaria