Our NB says that IEC 62304 is an ISO 14971 Requirement

blah01

Involved In Discussions
Hello all,
I have some questions regarding interpretation of the requirements related to EN ISO 14971:2012 (I use ‘ISO 14971’ interchangeably below) and ISO 62304:2006. Note that I am fairly new to the Cove; I posted 1 question last year and couldn't even figure out how to find it again on the site...a bit pathetic on my part I guess :bonk:...

I have spent nearly 2 days reading through the many posts on these standards to make sure I didn't simply throw out questions that were answered already, and found it to be very informative, although I still have a couple of questions left over which I would greatly appreciate some guidance on.

First as background information, we are a North American manufacturer and our product is a stand-alone software which is considered "aids for disabled/handicapped people", per definition "2.9 medical device" Note 2 in ISO 14971:2012, and which we have classified as a Class A device under ISO 62304. We are compliant to ISO 62304 and are now in the process of implementing EN ISO 14971:2012 since we will be selling in Europe. Note that I am also familiar with the Essential Requirements in MDD 93/42, of which the relevant requirements are addressed by Annex ZA in EN ISO 14971.

My questions are as follows: