Overwhelmed starting a new aviation related business

N

Newcomer1

Folks please be patient with me! I will try my best to make a long story short. I am a newly retired from the private aviation business. I used to be pilot, safety pilot, chief pilot then the last 10 years was in different management positions within the aviation industry.
Out of boredom but unfortunately not out of necessity, I started an LLC and registered with the Fed database as aircraft parts & accessories suppliers among a few other things.

My problem is that I am overwhelmed!:confused:
I am working from home for now but I?ve been asked if and when will I be ISO 9001:2008, AS9100 certified and whether I can perform First Article Test (AS9102, I believe).

I don?t know now whether I need a hanger with all the testing machines and operated by experts or only paperwork is all I need.

I am still learning the new business and hopefully with the help from this forum, Google search and finally professionals, will get right!:cfingers:

Thank you,

Elsmar Forum Sponsor

Jen Kirley

Quality and Auditing Expert
Leader
Admin
Welcome to the Cove!

You are in good hands. However, in order to provide meaningful input we will need specifics that we can draw upon requirements in applicable standards for answers. I have some questions to get the conversation started.

1) Will you be manufacturing aircraft parts, or reselling them?

2) Will you be supplier to government? What are your target markets?

3) Will you be offering any service (beyond warranty) for what you sell?

4) Will you involve any customer supplied equipment or specifications?

5) Will you be hiring anyone with any involvement in product or service directly supplied to the customers? If so, what are the positions?

This should get us started. I am sure there will be more questions along the way. :agree1:

N

Newcomer1

Welcome to the Cove!