Paint Color Control

R

Richard

Hello,
I am a supplier quality engineer working for a medical device company. We are currently very close to launch some new products. The design team intends to assign a tolerance on product color to as per customer?s requirements. A CIE color spec with a 0.5 delta E will be used instead of the current subjective visual inspection with color chips. I appreciate if some one can share some experience in painting process. My questions are:
1. Is 0.5 delta E a tight tolerance for a normal painting process? What are the typical process variations which can affect the color process stability?
2. How is painting process controlled? Is Spectrophotometer used and how often should color be checked? I understand the color measurement can be tricky based on some other relevant threads on this board. Can anyone share process control plan or documents? Is SPC used?
Hope you could help.
Thanks.
Richard

Elsmar Forum Sponsor

ScottK

Not out of the crisis
Staff member
Super Moderator
Hello Richard.
I've dealt with color both in pharmaceutical labeling and in silk screening in medical device manufacturing.

There are books of information on the questions you have... In order to relate what you are doing to my experience can you give a little more detail on what you are painting and what process you are using? is it paint or printing? That sort of thing.

R

Richard

Thanks for your quick response.
My company defines the product paint spec as per customer's requirements. The contract manufacturer sprays the paint on our plastic enclosures which are provided by us. I believe the powder coating will be used in supplier?s painting process.
I am also thinking car industry has tight paint color control and would like to hear some advice.

A

allan-M

We run a paint line where liquid paint is applied to coils of sheet metal, usually steel. Clearly the color is a pretty important customer requirement, so our tolerances might be tight.