People Management - Managing an under performing subordinate

• Thread starter dQApprenticeWife - 2010
  • Start date
D

dQApprenticeWife - 2010

Hi all,

I wish to get suggestions from you regarding people management. I am an Associate Manager in one of the projects in our company. I supervise 2 groups of people supporting 2 applications. I've been the lead of this 2 teams since I became a team lead.

My problem started when I was promoted AM and one of the people i supervised was promoted to TL. Now, I am already running out of patience with this TL to the point where i now look like a tyrant to my team than a lead. I'm already at the end of my rope and i've run out of idea on how i should handle her.

This person is a team lead and currently supervising 2 people working for production support. TL was recently promoted to her level last year and ever since she was promoted, i can't rely to her to complete all her tasks on time. I always have to follow up her and her team's tasks to ensure her team delivers as agreed with our onshore counterpart. Most of the time they are delayed and most of the time i have to save her ass.

She has already received a 1st warning on her performance and for a time she improved but later she went back to her old ways. She's always late resulting to her always hurrying up to complete her tasks to meet deadline. She also goes on sick leave on the slightest sign of body weakness.

In fairness to her, she is the type of person who has a very good PR. She's always jolly and friendly to everyone she meets. She's also close to the managers. Sometimes i can't help but think that she's an ass kisser.. sorry for the word but i'm really beginning to hate her for making my work difficult.