Person in charge's role or responsibility in ISMS? ISO 27001

T

tempe

I've read many articles and books about ISMS implementation. But, there are certain points that I still not clearly understand.

As there are many processes and tasks involved in ISMS implementation, until know I quite unclear about who is really in charge for each process or task. Almost all the information that I have to this point mentioned that organization's IT security committee is responsible for ISMS implementation. However, I need to know who is in the committee and their roles for each process and task in ISMS implementation step-by-step.

It will be grateful if there are any info on persons who are in charge in ISMS, their roles or responsibilities for ISMS in detail. Any general examples also can be a good help.

Thank you.

Elsmar Forum Sponsor

Colin

Quite Involved in Discussions
I am fairly new to ISO 27001 implementation but I am involved in a couple of projects at the moment. In my experience to date, I have found that you need to involve a number of key people. Despite what is said about it not being an IT based standard, there is a lot going on around the IT infrastructure so you will definitely need to involve the person responsible for that.

It also includes physical access so whoever looks after door entry/access etc needs to be involved. One of the early tasks is to identify your information assets - this could include hardware, software, mobile phones, laptops, etc so once again, get the people responsible involved.

It goes without saying that top management need to be on board and ultimately, everyone in the organisation needs to understand their roles.

Richard Regalado

Trusted Information Resource
Hi Tempe.