Please Critique Our Quality Plan Process Map! Feedback Appreciated!

Critique Our Process Map

Attached is a copy of our Process Map for our upcoming external audit which is scheduled for March 10th-12th. This has been reduced from 24 X 17 to 8 1/2 X 11 for faxing purposes and may be a little hard to read but it is readable. We arrived at this final product by using examples we found posted here so thanks to all who have helped.

Please let me know what you think AND how it might be improved and/or simplified.

Jeff Farrar

Elsmar Forum Sponsor

Shaun Daly

Involved In Discussions
I presume there is a key to the symbols which is not shown on the actual map?

That looks vaugely similiar to my first attempt today. Did you use the orange shaded map from here as inspiration? :)

I am new to this but taking comments on board from this sight I think a process map as compared to a flowchart should have more descriptive inputs & outputs? Or, using the shape of the symbols to indicate what is an input/output?

The little codes are your procedure references? I like that. Makes going to a specific procedure easy.

As soon as I get mine halfway decent so Im not embarressed I will post it.

Constructive criticism welcomed :)

Mike S.

Happy to be Alive
Trusted Information Resource
A nice, detailed map. Just a few passing comments based on a quick look...

I assume you have specific performance measures mentioned elsewhere in your QM.

It looks like you have "level 2" procedures referenced in the map, but it looks to me like your map is also detailed enough that it actually covers some of the "level 2" stuff. (Just a point, not a criticism). Is there overlap/redundency between the map and the level 2 procedures it references, and, if so, did you do this intentionally (i.e. to make the map more usable to your people)?