Possible topic for Master thesis topic - MDR and QMS

Muhammad Farooq

Starting to get Involved
I am a student of medical systems engineering. It is my desire to pursue a career in the field of medical device regulatory affairs and quality management systems for medical devices. In my quest for choosing a topic for my master's thesis, I am confronted with the problem that it should be a research-based or finding-based topic. So my question is, what should I look for (possible findings related to regulations) in the master's thesis topic if I choose a topic relating to medical device regulation? I would appreciate your suggestions for the topics.

I have connections with start-up companies of medical devices and they can offer me a position for my master's thesis, but it is my responsibility to find some suitable topic for myself.

Thank you.

Edward Reesor

Trusted Information Resource
I would love to see the impact of increased regulatory demand on innovation/new product development. As a small business employee for a family owned medical device designer, we often say that the ever-increasing demand for more regulation will soon create a non-viable marketplace. When Canada made the MDSAP program mandatory for every company wishing to sell their products here, I spoke with many manufacturers who withdrew from the marketplace (our relatively small market wasn't worth the expense). We withdrew from the EU due to the costs to maintain the credentials and I suspect that many of the NB's did as well.

Tidge