PPAP Checking aids, what to do exactly?

E

Einsiferum

I'm rather new to AIAG requirements but have to prepare an easy to understand and reference PPAP in-house guideline for submissions for AIAG member customers.
So, I use the AIAG PPAP manual as the main base, of course.
However, my coworkers an I can't just not come to a clear understanding of what the PPAP manual requires suppliers to do in the Checking aid requirement.
I have researched as much as I can online, and every company seems to have slightly different requests for these item.
So, in other words, our questiosn are:
1) What exactly and concretly are Checking aids? the manual says "part specific" fixtures, gauges, models, templates, mylars, etc.
Meaning that if a fixture is used specifically for that part to be inspected, that fixture constitutes a checking aid. That is our understanding.
2) What to submit exactly?
The PPAP AIAG manual says "submit ... any soecific checking aid", does it really mean to submit the actual fixture, gauge, template, mylar, etc??
AIAG also says to have teh checking aid meet the parts dmensional requirements, provide them with preventive maintenance and perform MSA.
Researching about it I have found many companies request the checking aid prints, and it dimensional conformity to such prints and or the parts dimensions, and to include a picture of the checking aid.
So, in sum we have compilled that for this requirement we need to submit:
1. checking aid prints
2. checking aid conformance with its prints dimensional reports and/or with the parts dimensional requirements.
3. evidence of chekcing aid being included in preventive maintenance
4. MSA of checking aid
5. checking picture
6. checking aid itself being submitted.

Is this true??

Thank you.

Jim Wynne

Super Moderator
Welcome to the Cove. :bigwave: