PPM Prediction for a New Automotive Electronic Product

H

Heintje

Hello,
Thank you for reading this post.

I have following question;

We are developing a new automotive electronic product. (so we are still in development phase)
A potential customer now wants us to commit to certain PPM values for this upcoming product. They want us to commit for a certain max PPM values they have issued for eg. number of failures once the product is used in an automotive environment.

I'm not experienced in this matter and wonder how to tackle this. Since it is a new product, we have no data what so ever available. Also no historical data available.
How can we commit already to certain given PPM values? What is your advice in this?

Kind regards,
Heintje.

Jim Wynne

Leader
Admin
Re: PPM prediction,

You should tell your potential customer that reliability (not PPM) predictions are based on data, not speculation, and you have no data at present. You should also ask them to specify the conditions under which they expect the product will be expected to perform. Just saying that the thing will be used under "automotive conditions" isn't enough.

H

Heintje

Ok, Thank you for your reply,
understand what you are saying.

However, it is possible to do all kind of things to increase reliability, like good design, extensive testing, Halt or Hass testing, controlled production and so on, we can create good reliable designs, but still, I don't know how this can be translated to PPM values... Is their a way to convert design into PPM values?

If my customer says, your design may not go above 500PPM on a year base, how can I prove this PPM value at the start and delivery of the first product?

Greetings.

Marc

Fully vaccinated are you?
Leader
<snip> A potential customer now wants us to commit to certain PPM values for this upcoming product. They want us to commit for a certain max PPM values they have issued for eg. number of failures once the product is used in an automotive environment.