Probability of Occurrence Ranking for Low Volume Manufacturing vs High Volume

K

kennethshaw

Hi,

I'm a newbie to the site. I'm currently working on post market surveillance ranking scales for a global company that manufactures any where from low to very high volume products. I was wondering if anyone could tell me how to scale the probability of defect occurring based on the quantity of production. I've heard that it is acceptable to scale the ranking based on quantity. If so, is there a justification or best practice on how this is done?

Thanks.

Ken

Elsmar Forum Sponsor

Chennaiite

Never-say-die
Trusted Information Resource
Hi,

I'm a newbie to the site. I'm currently working on post market surveillance ranking scales for a global company that manufactures any where from low to very high volume products. I was wondering if anyone could tell me how to scale the probability of defect occurring based on the quantity of production. I've heard that it is acceptable to scale the ranking based on quantity. If so, is there a justification or best practice on how this is done?

Thanks.

Ken
AIAG refers category of occurrence rating in subjective terms as Very High, High, Moderate, Low and Very Low. To be honest, more often than not, while doing an FMEA, this is the one I effectively use. Important thing is to ensure that the arrived rating is consistent with the actual rejection figures and also the robustness of the preventive controls in place. If you still want to pursue a rating table that relates to only 'numbers', one option I would suggest is to customize based on rejection targets.

Bev D

Heretical Statistician
Staff member
Super Moderator
there may be some confusion:

The typical use of 'occurence' is the defect rate (in either % or ppm) which takes into account the volume.

However severity of effect can be affected by the actual number of occurences.