Definition Procedure vs. Guidelines (Like local work instructions) - Definition of

D

dbzman

Hello everyone!

I work for a Heat Treating facility and we are working on ISO 9001-2000.

I'm trying to weed out some of our old procedures and need some help.
We have some operator intructions that we use for training. They desciebe the general way that we perfrom start-up and shut-down of our furnaces. We can deviate from them at times and this is allowed depending on the situation.

My question is: Are these considered procedures or are they more like guidelines. If they are guidelines, then how do we control them?

Thanks!

Mike W:bonk:

Elsmar Forum Sponsor
B

Bob_M

I'm not sure how to answer the first part in your situation, but

You control them just you like control any other process/document that you do want the operator/employee follow/perform.

What you call it does not change the need for control.
-----
Although I'm far from an expert, I would not change what you call the setup procedure just for ISO (unless you are changing the name of similar processes).

Also even though you are describing the "guidelines" for the setup, you are still providing the procedure or setup instructions. Deviation from a "base-line" is acceptable as long as you state it within the document.

Does that make sense?

(I've been working to hard on updating procedures today. Ouch my brain hurts).

A

Al Dyer

Procedures describe:

"What" the activity is-
"Who" performs the activity-
"When" the activity is takes place-

Work instructions describe:

"How" the activity is performed.
---------------------------------------------------------------

Sounds to me like you are talking instructions, and they need to be controlled through your current document control system.

Do you have a D/C system?

Al...:bigwave:

N

noboxwine

Re: Definition of a Procedure

Originally posted by dbzman
Hello everyone!