Process Owner vs. Job Descriptions

A

andy1ouok

Hello everyone,
I am new to this, so here it goes.
We are currently ISO 13485 certified, but redoing the system due to several Quality Managers in the past year. My boss wants to replace the job descriptions with process owners titles. What are your takes on this? As I have never seen this done.:lmao:

Elsmar Forum Sponsor

SteelMaiden

Super Moderator
Super Moderator
Re: Process Owner vs Job Descriptions

That's like replacing apples with artichokes:2cents:

A process owner is someone who is responsible (and has the authority to follow through) for a process. A job description is a list of things a person has to do in a job function.

A

andy1ouok

Thanks Steelmaiden,
I understand that,but my boss does not. I will try and pass that definition along to them.

SteelMaiden

Super Moderator
Super Moderator

Good luck. The only thing that I can think of to help is the fact that not every employee is a process owner. I guess the best thing to do is agree on what your definition of a job description is, and work from there.

Last edited:
J

Steel has it pretty well nailed.
A Job description helps to define process steps, and competancies required by whoever does the task. What Job descriptions do not do is say "so-and-so" is reponsible for this.

The Process owner is saying "Who" is responsible for the job description(s).

Perhaps that is what is being proposed. That the Job descriptions be organized under whomever has responsibility for them. Could that be what your boss is looking for?

Peace
James

Q

qualitytrec

I would say it a little different. A job description defines the processes and responsibilities of a given position or function while a process owner only defines which employee is responsible for the given process (and that employee is likely responsible for many others as well). Everywhere I have worked you need to define both ways and tie them together.