PSW Requirements for a Distributor

L

LowDown

I'm new to a distributor who does no manufacturing or processing of the items we distribute in the automotive space, other than receiving sealed boxes from the mfg and storing them until they are ordered, picked and shipped ( still sealed in the mfg cartons) . Currently we are supplying PPAPs to customers as required ,which are supplied to us by the mfg, along with the PSW which is basically a copy and paste from the one submitted to us by the mfg except that we put our company info on it in place of the mfg's and sign it. What liability are we assuming by supplying "our PSW" as far as if there is a quality issue? We do not alter or add to the PPAP documentation provided by the mfg, just pass it through. Should we even be providing "our" PSW ? We also currently do not sign off on PSW supplied to us by the mfg, nor do we require customers to return signed PSW's to us. What could come of that? Need some expert guidance here as I have searched and info regarding PSWs from distributors is scarce. The answer I get from the folks here is "thats the way we always have done it" :bonk:

Elsmar Forum Sponsor

ncwalker

Trusted Information Resource
The PSW sounds like a crazy, binding document. Especially with the word "Warrant" in it. The reality is, it's a paper tiger. In fact, there are no industry requirements that require anyone in a certain skill or with any kind of certification be able to sign the thing. Contrast this with, say, a CQI-9 audit for heat treating. THAT has a list of requirements of who can actually complete the thing, and it is based on knowledge of heat treat, etc.