Purchasing - Internal Audit Questions

Hi

I am new to manufacturing, and I work at a plant with 50 employees. I am 21 years old and am a certified lead auditor for ISO 9001, ISO 14001, and ISO 45001. I am having trouble coming up with Internal Audit questions for ISO 9001 in regards to the purchasing process? Can anyone please provide me a question list for a purchasing process audit?

Elsmar Forum Sponsor

Jim Wynne

Staff member
Admin
No one can make meaningful suggestions without knowing anything about your company's requirements. Presumably there are documented requirements for your purchasing process. Let the requirements be your guide.

PART A

We have procedures for purchasing all raw materials, equipment, and services that could (and do) affect quality. Our Services Manager is the process owner.

PURCHASE REQUISITIONS/ORDERS
We have purchase requisitions to be completed for the items listed above, and anyone can request.
  1. The requisition must be signed by the requester and include 13 pieces of info (supplier name, unit price, etc.).
  2. The 1st level approval reviews the requisition for correctness and need.
  3. If not denied, it's returned to requester for revision or destruction.
  4. If approved at 1st level, the requester sends it to purchasing - who submits 2nd level approval and a PO.
  5. POs have 12 requirements (date of purchase, address, etc.).
  6. A printed PO is sent to VP of Marketing (or designers) for approval.
  7. If approved by VP, VP makes a copy of the PO which is sent to accounting and the supplier (Note: It can be faxed).
  8. Fax conformations, PO, and requisitions are filed by purchasing and maintained as quality records.
REVIEW/APPROVAL OF PURCHASING DOCS
Procedure:
  1. Requester must submit requisition to their supervisor for 1st lvl approval. Approver reviews the req to ensure it's what the company needs.