QMS and ISO 9001

imkegg

Registered
Hey everyone,

First time posting on here so I'll keep it short and sweet.

I've recently taken on the position of Quality Manager at a small machine/job shop and have no previous experience in this position. My background is welder/fabricator and some time spent in a research facility. We are in the process of building a quality department and interested in applying for ISO9001 in the next 3 years. Does anyone have any advice on what to do, not to do, common pitfalls, or anything else that we can benefit from?

Sorry for the broad post but I'm just trying to get a good idea of starting point for us.

Thanks!

John Broomfield

Leader
Super Moderator
Hey everyone,

First time posting on here so I'll keep it short and sweet.

I've recently taken on the position of Quality Manager at a small machine/job shop and have no previous experience in this position. My background is welder/fabricator and some time spent in a research facility. We are in the process of building a quality department and interested in applying for ISO9001 in the next 3 years. Does anyone have any advice on what to do, not to do, common pitfalls, or anything else that we can benefit from?

Sorry for the broad post but I'm just trying to get a good idea of starting point for us.

Thanks!

imkegg,

Welcome. You are in the right place and need not worry. Many folk who visit the Cove are willing to share their experience of doing this for themselves and other small organizations.

You will find reports from decades of Covers who have developed their organization’s process-based management system so it is largely based on what they already do (already implemented!).

This should get you started:

Implementation of QMS

We look forward to your further questions as you progress.

Best wishes,

John

Tagin

Trusted Information Resource
Two things come to mind: