QMS (Quality Management System) and Calibration Procedure

• Thread starter sagespecialized
  • Start date
S

sagespecialized

First off, WOW!!! I stumbled into this site and it has been a wealth of knowledge on my quest for ISO9001/2008 compliance/ certification.

A little about me. I'm a machinist that has decided to start my own shop. Been doing it for 21 years. I have been process orientated for all of them, say what you do and write it down. I have worked in all departments in manufacturing including quality but have never been part of the ISO/AS team that put together the docs so this is a first for me. My approach is a little different than most shop owners in that I want my establishment to be driven by the documentation, most do it the other way around, so i'm on a journey to start with the basic 6 procedures then build on it as I grow. I do have a plan.

I'm working without a standard at the moment but I have learned what's required from all the great threads here. Being unemployed at the moment money is a little tight but I know I will have to invest in one soon to verify I have all my ducks in a row up to this point.

I'm stuck on the part about needing a calibration process in my QMS manual. I plan on sending all my measuring tools our to an accredited lab for calibration and certification then retaining all docs in one file hyperlinked within my QMS manual, but i'm just not sure how to word the procedure that tells an auditor and employees that. Purpose, Scope, Responsibility etc. Each of my current processes contain those items and I'm looking for fluidity in my system so I feel I need to add some depth to the process and not just a one liner. ex. all measuring tools go to XYZ and I have the certs on file. to vauge for me.