Qualifying audits

C

C Emmons

Is anyone aware of how to use internal audits to qualify for IRCA/RAB? I though I had read somwhere that if they were separate sites, and the auditor worked for a corporate office, then those audits would be considered as qualifying audits for the purpose of obtaining RAB and/or IRCA certification.

Anyone else ever done it?

Elsmar Forum Sponsor
T

tomvehoski

I do not believe RAB will accept internal audits to qualify for Auditor or Lead Auditor status. Audits where consultation is provided are also void. This is an issue for me since, as a consultant, I give advice to my clients while auditing.

When I went through lead auditor training years ago, I asked the instructor how to get through the requirement. Basically you had to:

1. Catch on with a registrar as a provisional auditor (no audit experience required) to gain the necessary audit days.

2. "Volunteer" to conduct audits for other companies as an independent.

I decided it was not worth the headache of trying to satisify the RAB (and $100s in annual fees) to have another certificate on the wall.

Somebody did tell me one time the IRCA would accept consulting audits as experience, then you could transfer IRCA to RAB. Not sure if this is true or not since I never looked into it.

Tom

A

Aaron Lupo

C Emmons said:

Is anyone aware of how to use internal audits to qualify for IRCA/RAB? I though I had read somwhere that if they were separate sites, and the auditor worked for a corporate office, then those audits would be considered as qualifying audits for the purpose of obtaining RAB and/or IRCA certification.

Anyone else ever done it?
If you go to www.RABNET.com you will be able o download a book with all the details of what they will and won't accept as audit experience.

Do you audit any of your suppliers??

C

C Emmons