Quality manager considering data science

Silex7

Involved In Discussions
Hello,

I am a Quality manager and I have been taken several studies in Quality management ( both courses & degree), and I was thinking in taking a forward step in my academic studies to join Data Science program / degree. As we are truly driving towards more orientation era of data science and I entirely believe that Quality profession is declining to be a 'techno-oriented' profession , that we are moving to Quality 4.0 era of new method, and quality automated tools, that would acquire optimizing skills to handle and to adapt it in the nearly future.

The point is, I need to discuss this point with everyone because I still have some worries of taking this step (if I decided to join a degree / course).

So could you advise me how do you think this idea would be wisely taken? in the light of Quality management profession?

Thank you in advance,

Elsmar Forum Sponsor

John Broomfield

Staff member
Super Moderator
Your point about quality being a declining profession is interesting. Many quality professionals have long argued that quality is everyone else’s responsibility!

One could argue that once line managers and engineers understand the principles of quality management they could do it all themselves; except perhaps for audit.

But do they?

The fact remains however that we all need better and more timely information to make better decisions and I would agree that opportunities in this field are definitely growing with automation much faster than quality management.

RoxaneB

Super Moderator
Super Moderator
I find your reason for considering the Data Science program a little too high level. WHY are you interested in taking it? WHAT are you trying to achieve/be? HOW will this program enable you to achieve that goal?

If your reasons for taking the course are purely professional (i.e., not something you're also passionate about), I would question if the program is for your.