Quality Manager Training Methods - Learning and Implementing ISO 9001

R

RussG1961

Complete noob here.

I have recently been delegated as our companies Quality Systems Manager.

I am currently developing an "ISO Certification Project Timeline" chart that was requested by a potential customer. ( profitable account ).

We have met with an consultant and have elected to do much of the work ourselves (me) In the Creation of our QMS, Policy and implementation thereof.

We are a small steel grinding shop. 2 machine operators, President, Salesman, Shop Foreman, Every other Hat guy (me). Thats 10 total. :D

The question i have is regarding the "training" of the Quality Manager (me).

1. Would you recommend a "training kit"or simply take the time to study and get a grasp on the ISO 9001:2008 Standard? ( which i am confident i can do )

2. Would you include such training in the project timeline? If yes, How would you label the "task assigned to" row, if said training is the study of the "ISO 9001:2008 Quality management systems-Requirements." Booklet ?

Thanks in advance

Russ G.

Elsmar Forum Sponsor
K

keres

Re: Quality Manager Training Methods

LRQA is the best training organization for these purposes.

Colin

Quite Involved in Discussions

Welcome to the Cove Russ :bigwave:

Nice challenge you have ahead of you but you sound positive about it and you have discovered a great source of information here at the Cove.

Certainly learning what ISO 9001 means (not just what it says) to your organisation is a 'must have' with regards to your knowledge for the job but there is more to the role than that.

I am in the UK so it is no good to you directly but I run a course for people who have become the new management representative within their organisation. One of the first things we do is an exercise to identify the tasks that this person may have to fulfill, the results are quite interesting.