Quality Objectives - ISO 9001 2015

I am a quality management consultant. I am really concerned about whether to set OBJECTIVES that should be done first and then THINGS to be done (as stated by the 9001:2015 standard), or to set THINGS to do first, then set TAGETS of them. Is it possible that after defining the context, analyzing risks and opportunities, it will bring out what needs to be done first, then set the results to be achieved. This is more realistic, especially for small businesses.

Please consider my opinion and give me some advice. Thanks!

Last edited by a moderator:
Elsmar Forum Sponsor

Ninja

Looking for Reality
Trusted Information Resource
whether to set OBJECTIVES that should be done first and then THINGS to be done
or to set THINGS to do first, then set TAGETS of them.
My sig line is "Purpose, Plan, Progress, Peaches.
Explanation here. (Post #69 on that thread)

End of the day, you have to decide "What am I trying to accomplish?" before you can effectively decide "What should I do?"
Purpose and Plan have to come before Progress.
That's how you maximize the fruit (peaches) of your effort.
You can't effectively set THINGS to do, until you've defined the OBJECTIVE of doing things...

Last edited:

Sidney Vianna

Post Responsibly
Staff member
Admin
Welcome to The Cove. Please be aware that ISO 9001 has NO REQUIREMENTS for targets. There are numerous discussions here on the difference between objectives and targets. As for the sequence of implementation, take a clue from the ISO Paper available @ ISO9001_2015_Guidance_on_the_Process_Approach.docx where they list the high level steps of implementing, maintaining and improving a QMS via the PDCA cycle.

Big Jim