leftoverture

Involved In Discussions
Hello All,
Just trying to get a little feedback here. We are a small, family-owned contract manufacturer in the plastics industry. I am new to the realm of compliance. Our customers are asking more and more for us to certify compliance to the various regulations such as REACH, ROHS, prop 65, etc. It is my understanding that the REACH SVHC list is updated about every 6 months and our customers are asking us to resubmit compliance every time the list is updated. Being a small company such as we are, we do not have a compliance department or even a compliance officer so all the added labor to update the documentation is rather burdensome. Being we are a job shop, we use only the materials our customers specify, we have no design control at all, so I am uncertain why we should be expected to provide the compliance documents. Shouldn't our customers establish that the material is compliant with REACH, ROHS, prop 65, or what have you prior to specifying that we use it?
I would appreciate any feedback that can help us understand this better.
Thanks!

They should but they don't. This all a "stuff rolls down hill" requirement. If you using molding resins, you can check with manufacturer/distributor to get their reach info and pass it along to your customer. We created a series form letters for each reg. Good luck.

leftoverture

Involved In Discussions
They should but they don't. This all a "stuff rolls down hill" requirement. If you using molding resins, you can check with manufacturer/distributor to get their reach info and pass it along to your customer. We created a series form letters for each reg. Good luck.