Recommendations on calibration interval (frequency) ISO/IEC 17025:2005 para 5.10.4.4

J

joecalibratio

I.A.W. ISO/IEC 17025:2005 section 5.10.4.4 "A calibration certificate (or label) shall not contain any recommendation on the calibration interval except where this has been agreed with the customer. This requirement may be superceded by legal regulations."

Does anyone know the reason behind this paragraph? I am under the understanding that the manufacturers recommendations are typically utilized for calibration intervals. This paragraph has some ambiguity with "agreed with the customer" and "superceded by legal regulations".

Does this mean we leave the Expiration date blank? I do not believe the majority of our customers would be receptive to this.

Joel

Elsmar Forum Sponsor

Jerry Eldred

Forum Moderator
Super Moderator
Although I'm not an expert on this, I will give it a shot. The "Certificate of Calibration" is essentially a statement of as found/as released quantitative information about how the instrument is performing at a given time. Establishing the interval is a separate issue.

For example, I am currently working on statistical evaluation of about 86,000 calibrations in my company's calibration recall database. This is based on NCSLI Recommended Practice method 3 (if I recall corrrectly - sorry, it's late on Friday afternoon). The interval is a statistical probability to a given confidence of how long an instrument may be expected to remain within tolerance. It may be lengthened when prior as received calibration history allows it, or may be shortened when prior history dictates that way.

The given users accuracy requirements, frequency of use, environmental factors, the "lemon factor" (if you have one bad one in an otherwise "good" population of instruments, it has a "lemon factor") and other factors can impact what the interval should be set to.