Search the Elsmar Cove!
**Search ALL of Elsmar.com** with DuckDuckGo Especially for content not in the forum
Such as files in the Cove "Members" Directory

Record Management - Does the QMS need to control templates of records?

Hello everyone, this forum has been a huge support for me while planning and revising existing procedures in my company!
I've only recently started in quality as a total novice and it's been a learning curve till now, I've figured out key procedures that are essential for the standard our company follows (ISO 9001:2015). Although I can't wrap my head around a practical and easy to follow procedure for Record management.

Our company is a manufacturer of cosmetics so we have a lot of records for maintaining batch manufacturing information, packing and filling details, etc. Now I have obtained templates for these existing records and which are currently under no control, the employees sometimes change the template without following a proper change control procedure.

My question is - how do I implement an effective record management system?
Along with details such as Template no, Issue date, Revision no, and revision date, do I need to get a "signature" as approval for the template?
and finally - Do I need to control these templates under document control (master copy, controlled copies, reference copies)?

Essential to add: our company doesnt have a software or online system, so I'm going to have to maintain all these templates manually.
Cheers!

Hello everyone, this forum has been a huge support for me while planning and revising existing procedures in my company!
I've only recently started in quality as a total novice and it's been a learning curve till now, I've figured out key procedures that are essential for the standard our company follows (ISO 9001:2015). Although I can't wrap my head around a practical and easy to follow procedure for Record management.