SBS - The best value in QMS software

Reporting REACH - Electronic components distributor

SpinDr99

Involved In Discussions
Hi All,

I've recently joined a company who sends products to the EU and I'm in need of help regarding REACH. To be more specific, we're a distributor of electronic components and I'm not sure where to begin to determine how what we buy/re-sell has an impact on our customers since I'm sure there are many chemicals involved in their manufacture. After that, I can't find anything which guides me on how to report on REACH. I would greatly appreciate any and all help you can offer.

Elsmar Forum Sponsor

Tagin

Trusted Information Resource
I'm in need of help regarding REACH. To be more specific, we're a distributor of electronic components
(Disclaimer: I have limited knowledge of REACH.) As a distributor, you will need to place requirements on your upstream suppliers to provide REACH documentation for each component they provide/manufacture. Then, you will pass that information along when you supply a component to your customer (I'm assuming you sell to other businesses and not to consumers). So, in this sense it is similar to collecting and passing along RoHS declarations. As I understand it, for your type of product, the primary concern are SVHCs (substances of very high concern...currently 211 of them):
Candidate List of substances of very high concern for Authorisation - ECHA

Reach Registration - who needs to register?
Registration - ECHA

Start here - Understanding REACH:
Understanding REACH - ECHA
According to this page, you fall into this category: