Request: Procedures for BASIC in-house Calibrations - Small Company

B

Bob_M

Info First:
We are relatively small company that uses mainly Calipers, Micrometers, and Tape measures in the productions/receiving areas.
We have a very basic work instructions that tells me how to calibrate/verify these types of gages in-house. I also received some quick training on how to do them before our last quality manager left.
The procedure/work instructions overall are OK, but just barely.

With out BUYING more standards or going to more training (low $$ right now), can any one provide some other their procedures for calibrating there equipment in house?

Also what kind of standards/publications or training could I seek out?

Our program works so far, but I have no real training or background in this area, I'm a bit concerned about the long term for our company and MYSELF.

Thanks Bob_M

T

tomvehoski

What kind of inspections are you performing? How tight are your tolerances?

Basic checks on calipers and micrometers with certified gage blocks are usually sufficient. You don't need to spend a fortune to make sure your caliper is correct. Some things may not even need to be checked. If your receiving person is using a caliper to tell if a piece of bar stock is 1.25 or 1.5 OD, you don't need to calibrate that caliper.

Production gages may not need to be calibrated (at least not very often) if you use inspection gages for a final check. If everything goes through a CMM or other inspection later, you may determine that the risk of not catching a bad part in production due to lack of calibration is less than the cost it would take to calibrate every device.

I often rely on a single page form that shows where a caliper should be checked (i.e. 0, 2, 4, 6" +/-.0005) and records the actual readings before and after calibration.

It does not have to be fancy and expensive to work.

Tom

K

Ken K