Response Surface Method to create design matrix in Minitab

Dear Experts,

I am new to the software Minitab. I want to use the Response Surface Method to create design matrix. Later on I entered the values of my response. Then I went to Analyze Response surface tab. I want to ask when do we click The Optimal Design? Or either should we select one by one Analyze Resp surface or Optimal Design both, after creating design matrix and input the Response values.

Regards,

Shamoon

Elsmar Forum Sponsor

Miner

Forum Moderator
Staff member
Admin
This is the proper sequence for creating an optimal design:
  1. Create the initial DOE design (e.g., RSM or factorial)
  2. Select Optimal design
  3. Run the optimal experiment
  4. Analyze optimal experiment
  5. Interpret results
  6. Run confirmation experiment

I would analyze your data as a standard response surface design. If the results provide what you were looking for, there is no need to run the optimized design.

In my case, for each DoE I have to run a long simulation (1 day) to get response value. So if I have 20 runs, this would mean 20 days and in that way I will have some data for RSM. It would be cumbersome to re-work the whole data for optimization purpose. Anyway, I will see once I get response results. Thanks for help.
1. Just please tell me for optimization do we analyze RSM results or do the D-optimal design first?

2. Second question is in selecting RSM, what is the importance of alpha in selecting design. If I take default values, it creates a DoE matrix using some values out of the cube and bogus. If I take Face centered it gives me reasonable values withing limits.

Thanks

Miner

Forum Moderator
Staff member
Admin
1. Just please tell me for optimization do we analyze RSM results or do the D-optimal design first?
I think you are confusing the process of optimizing a design/process with an optimal design.