Ring Gage Thermal Expansion

Hello Everyone,
Thank you in advance for reading my post. I am having a discussion with a colleague about the thermal expansion of ring gages. I've done some preliminary research already, and have found nothing concrete and i'm hoping some of the experts on here would be able to assist me. I am an ASQ Certified Calibration Technician with 12 years metrology experience, and although i have tried very hard to research everything i was initially taught (many of the initial things i have found to be wrong), i still can't find definitive evidence. I was originally taught that the thermal expansion of ring gages were opposite just like the tolerances of the plugs. Ie: when a ring gage gets warmer, the internal diameter becomes smaller, and when it's colder, the diameter gets larger. I've tried reading through Puttock and Thwaite’s CSIRO Technical Paper No. 25, however it alludes mostly to spheres, pins, and plugs. It does mention the compression factor, which would actually defer the expansion to be the same as any other linearly dimensional object, like gage blocks, but i am still not sure. Does anyone have anything concrete on this, or can share personal experience? I do have access to ASME B89.1.6 however it's not as clear cut as i'd like. Thanks again!

Elsmar Forum Sponsor

Miner

Forum Moderator
Staff member
Admin
An interesting question to which I do not have the answer. From a physics perspective, higher temperatures should increase the diameter of the neutral axis. However, you would also get an increase in the cross-sectional thickness, so I'm not sure which would win out. I would probably try an experiment with three different temperatures to find out. Thin walled pipe definitely get larger.

CCaantley

Involved In Discussions