Risk Management Procedure updates needed for 14971:2019

bolesen

Starting to get Involved
Hi Everyone, I am new to regulatory and am trying to update our Risk Management SOP based on our last ISO auditor's feedback on improvements to our SOP.
He recommended we bolster/define the method for overall residual risk acceptability and how we evaluate residual risks.

Does anyone have any examples of how they have updated your Risk Management SOP to the 14971:2019 standard?

Any advice is much appreciated.

Elsmar Forum Sponsor

Enternationalist

Involved In Discussions
Some basic principles, to make of which what you will.
  1. Distinguish residual risk for a particular hazard from the overall residual risk in your system. One is about how much risk is left in a particular situation, the other is about considering all remaining risk together in the system. Evaluating these will generally be separate activities.
  2. Overall acceptability is normally going to come down to your risk/benefit analysis. Pretty much anything has risks - are the benefits of the device worth it, once you've considered all the little risks you add to the situation?
  3. Have clear lines about acceptability. For some devices it might be pretty easy to define a clinical standard, or typical clinical performance of similar devices, and say that if you are no worse than standard practice then that's an acceptable level of risk. For others, you might need to get clinical opinion to get an idea of what is and is not acceptable. Either way, make sure you take a sane look at the result - think deeply about how many patients would experience the type of harm you're evaluating if your device were to be in widespread use.

I would highly recommend a process published by RQM+ for Risk- benefit analysis. Go to their blog and select this blog: A QUANTITATIVE APPROACH TO BENEFIT-RISK DETERMINATION

Ronen E

Problem Solver