ROHS Exemption Declarations

Ralba

Involved In Discussions
Hello all,

I am a relative newbie to the field of electronics. A customer has asked us for a RoHS compliance form for a we have made for them, and we issued a standard one with no exemptions claimed. All parts used on this product are from the BoM issued by our customer. When the customer does not specifically request leaded solder, we tend to use unleaded.

I was under the impression that the declarations of exemptions were for the whole product you are manufacturing. However, this customer has asked us if we really have no exemptions, because one of the components used in the final assembly (a small, galvanized spacer) is exempt under 6(a)-I, machined metal leaded content.

So please help me understand when we should be declaring exemptions and how they should be notated. Should I be putting the part and exemption? I doubt that exemption can apply to our final product since it is probably less than 1% of the total weight of the final assembly.

Also, please let me know how it should be stated if we HAD used leaded solder to make sure I am understanding all of this correctly.

Thank you!

Elsmar Forum Sponsor

Ralba

Involved In Discussions
I will give myself one bump then let the thread die.

Again, I am trying to understand if I would need to declare exemptions on my product on every issuance of compliance, or if I can just say it is compliant and give more details on how it is compliant if someone asks.

CharlieUK

Quite Involved in Discussions
The guidance that you are looking for is in the RoHS Guide (my use of bold text):

Q8.11 What does a CE mark on EEE mean with regard to the restricted substances?
CE marking symbolises the conformity of the product with the applicable EU requirements imposed on the manufacturer. The CE marking affixed to a product therefore is a declaration by the person responsible that
- the product conforms to all applicable EU provisions, and