Root Cause on Non-Conformity Against Quality Manual

Deli88

Involved In Discussions
Hi all,

I'm struggling to come up with a root cause on a non-conformity brought up during our ISO9001:2015 upgrade audit. I am new to the company and have taken on the position which was left vacant by my predecessor for 4-6 months.

I initially said that the errors were caused by an oversight by the quality manager while editing the manual to fit the new standard. However our accreditation body have said that this is incorrect. How can I determine a root cause when the error was made initially by the previous QM.

Any ideas on how I could write a meaningful root cause that doesn't surmount to human error?

Thanks

Deli88

Involved In Discussions
a) The index covers clauses of ISO 13485:2012 only and does not include reference to ISO 9001:2015 (Note: ISO 9001:2015 is included in scope of manual however).
b) Appendices A and B which contain the company process maps were inadvertently removed during the upgrade of the Quality Manual from Revision 12 to Revision 13 and so are no longer present.
c) Although the Quality Manual was verified to include reference to procedures and work instructions, the structure of the documentation used in QMS is not included.
d) Details on the control of the work environment in the cleanroom are not included in Section 6.4 of the Quality Manual nor are reference to associated procedures.

JoshuaFroud

Involved In Discussions
Hi Deli88,

Welcome to the Cove.

I think for anyone to be able to provide any specific assistance or guidance you may need to give a little bit more information on the nature of the non-conformance?