Sample Sizes and A2, A3, B4, d2 Factor Parameters

K

kristof nuyts

Hello,

I'm a student Industrial Engineer Elektromechanics in Belgium. For a thesis I have to make a study about Statistical Process Control.

Recently I've encountered a small problem. Suppose we have an on-line process and every second we get the value of a measurement. We calculate the moving average and plot it on a chart. The problem is which samplesize I have to take. Usually people take a sample size of 2 but is there a formula to calculate the sample size?

I have noticed that in some books the parameters A2, A3, B4, d2,... are just written down for sample sizes from 2 to 25. Do these parameters exist for larger sample size or isn't it useful to use these. In other words, is it still useful for plotting the points on a chart with a sample size of (for example) 28.

greetings,

Kristof N.

Elsmar Forum Sponsor

Marc

Hunkered Down for the Duration
Staff member
Admin
If you get 1 measurement every 1 second, how many pieces are going through in 1 second?

D

D.Scott

Kristof - I am not a statistician so this is only information from my limited knowledge. At least we will get the discussion going.

Assumption - you are running an X-bar & R chart.

It depends on why you are using the chart as to the large sample sizes being useful. If you are trying to control process variability for example, you wouldn't want a large sample size. There is a number of 12 somewhere in the back of my head as the point where the range efficiency drops rapidly.

For large sample sizes you would probably want to run an X-bar & s chart.

Dave

R

Rick Goodson

kristof,

Let me follow up on Dave's comments.

There are three components of variation in a part, within-piece, piece-to-piece, and time-to-time variation. These are composed of process, material, operator, and miscellaneous components. There are typically two schemes for selecting subgroup samples: