Service Supplier Evaluations - Criteria for evaluation and control of registrars

J

Jim Biz

I have a newsletter - proclaiming that the new standard will increase the focus on evaluatiing and maintaining control over "Service Suppliers" and goes beyound part/product related activities.

If that is true - how interesting it will be to see the criteria for evaluation/control over their chosen registrars services?

Any thoughts?

Elsmar Forum Sponsor

Marc

Hunkered Down for the Duration
Staff member
Admin
I am a consultant. I provide services. Back 4 years or more ago ISO auditors didn't freak out over evaluation of service suppliers. The original intent of the evaluation of sub-contractors was to ensure stuff you built your product with was from 'approved' (evaluated) suppliers. As ISO has evolved (with consideration to QS) evaluation of suppliers of services is (and has been for a number of years now, actually) a serious issue, if you will.

On my invoices I print a note saying they should ensure Cayman Systems is an approved, evaluated supplier as this is an ISO/QS requirement. The evaluation is to their stated requirements. Your company has to decide what your requirements are. I have seen several clients requirements for an ISO or QS consultant. Each was a bit different. One wanted lead auditor training and several other things. Another stated they just checked references because they had no idea what to ask for in an ISO consultant.

Actually, you should already have defined requirements for a registrar and evaluated the one you have. That registrar should be on your approved supplier list.

There is really no significant change - it's more of a 'clarification' or tightening of the requirement.

E

eskay

Marc,

Just a small querry. Is this a requirement? Should I evaluate my Registrar before I sign a contract with them for certification?

If yes, on what basis? What are the various things to be looked into for evaluating such registrar?