Setting up from scratch - Looking for help (ISO9001 / ISO13485)

W

whelmed

My company is a start-up starting from scratch. We've been working for baout 4 years now, but in the next 2 years the goal is to become ISO 9001/13485 certified.

There are only 4 of us and we are all pretty much flying blind when it comes to ISO Specs.

Is there a DIY guide, or good books that someone can recommend? I've had a lot of experience in companies that are ISO certified in both of these, but never to set it up.

Thanks so much!

TPMB4

Quite Involved in Discussions
Re: Setting up from scratch, looking for help (9001 / 13485)

When I was new to quality role (still a novice) I went down the book route. Got a reasonable book on ISO9001 (well thought it was at the time). I must admit I never really use it now. I guess the best book is the standard itself and this forum. Feel free to ask questions here as it really is a good way to learn, from those who have traveled the path before you.

One good thing is that as a small start up there is unlikely to be an issue with buy-in to the quality thing. Assuming from the small number of people involved you are also top management/boss/owner and everyone is motivated by the project (i.e. the start-up). I imagine it is very exciting times. Good luck.

As far as books go, I think people on here rate an expert with the name Cochrane, could be wrong. Being from the UK I looked at a few ISO books that seem popular on Amazon UK, the likes of Hoyle. I ended up getting another author whose name escapes me. Guess that says a lot about how useful I found that book!!!

somashekar

Leader
Admin
Re: Setting up from scratch, looking for help (9001 / 13485)

My company is a start-up starting from scratch. We've been working for baout 4 years now, but in the next 2 years the goal is to become ISO 9001/13485 certified.

There are only 4 of us and we are all pretty much flying blind when it comes to ISO Specs.