Severity, Occurance and Detection ratings seem qualitative

R

raghav571

Hello all

I am an industrial engineering student and I learned FMEA in school. My question is the ratings given to severity, occurance and detecion seems like qualitative, like something which one knows based on experience with process or product or design. Is FMEA primarily a brain storming session with persons from all levels sit together to discuss possible failures. This forum is really helping me understand things. Thanks for all your help and knowledge sharing.

Thank you
Raghav

G

Gert Sorensen

Re: Severity, Occurance and Detection

My question is the ratings given to severity, occurance and detecion seems like qualitative, like something which one knows based on experience with process or product or design.
In short, yes. However, there are guidelines/standards available relating to the use of FMEA in specific areas, i.e. automotive and medical devices. Keep in mind, that it is a good idea to use the ratings in the guideline, since we have a tendancy to consider the risks etc. lower than they should be, if we have been involved with the production or development of a product/process.

Is FMEA primarily a brain storming session with persons from all levels sit together to discuss possible failures.
Yes, it is basically a structured brainstorm - resulting in a list of possibilities for improvement. FMEA is a iterative process, and the benefit and the output of a FMEA session is entirely up to the team involved and the management's support of the process.

R

raghav571

Re: Severity, Occurance and Detection

Thank you. I am sure my learning curve is going up through this forum, Thanks for your time and guidance.