Should QA procedures be separate processes?

M

miriambnk

Hi all,

I'm new here, I've been reading posts for a couple of days and you all seem very helpful and knowledgable so I thought you might be able to help with a query I have.

I'm fairly new to ISO and QA in general, having been put in charge of getting ISO certification from May of this year. We initially had a consultant in who gave us some regurgitated versions of the 6 specified procedures and quality manual, which had no relevance to our company or what we actually do (we're a construction company so have to think outside the box for a lot of ISO matters as our 'product' is very different to manufacturing or service industries). I was appointed to carry this forward and have ended up having to completely rewrite a lot of our procedures as well as implementing a number of changes in our practice.

My question now is this: Should QA procedures, i.e. Customer Feedback, Document Control, Internal Audits, etc. be separate processes or is it sufficient that they are defined procedures within a wider process (currently Management for us)? Our original consultant just had Management as a process and everything else included as procedures within that which is how I've kept it for the moment, but I've been getting the impression from both training courses that I've attended and documents that I've read that this might not be the correct approach.

I'd appreciate any clarification anyone can offer me, I did have a search for previous discussions but couldn't find an answer.

Thanks in advance,

Miriam

qusys

Trusted Information Resource
Hi Miriam,
nice to meet you.
I think that the Cove is one of the best place to share ideas and info about Quality matters.
I will give my thought about what you asked for, but I also think the other experts can help you as well to find the correct direction.