Significance of regression, correlation coefficient, hypothesesi, confidence interval

silverjlp

Starting to get Involved
Hello,

I am a statistics student. I have a Minitab assignment. My professor is making us learn Minitab on our own - really. I desperately need help and step by step help. I know very little about Minitab.

Here are the questions:
The weight and systolic blood pressure of 26 randomly selected males Assume that weight and blood pressure are jointly normally distributed.
(a) Find a regression line relating systolic blood pressure to weight.
(b) Test for significance of regression using α = 0.05.
(c) Estimate the correlation coeffiient.
(d) Test the hypothesis that ρ = 0, using α = 0.05.
(e) Construct a 95% confidence interval for the correlation coefficient.

Here is the data:
Weight Systolic BP
165 130
167 133
180 150
155 128
212 151
175 146
190 150
210 140
200 148
149 125
158 133
169 135
170 150
172 153
159 128
168 132
174 149
183 158
215 150
195 163
180 156
143 124
240 170
235 165
192 160
187 159

I think I can do the regression line using Stat - Regression - Fitted line plot, right?

How do I answer b-e?
You are not doing my homework for me, even if you answer step by step.
I appreciate all you can offer

Elsmar Forum Sponsor

Miner

Forum Moderator
Staff member
Admin
Re: Significance of regression, correlation coefficient, hypothesesi, confidence inte

See my response to your other thread. Fitted Line Plot and regression will give you the same equations. The difference is that Fitted Line Plot will only handle one predictor, does provide a graph, but provides a condensed report in the Session Window. Regression can handle more predictors, including discrete, does not provide a graph, but provides more detailed reports.

silverjlp

Starting to get Involved
Re: Significance of regression, correlation coefficient, hypothesesi, confidence inte

Hello
I am able to get a-c done, but I'm very lost on testing the hypothesis.