Software validation in Medical Equipment

divpara17

Registered
I am a new validation manager in medical device ind. who has an extensive experience with IT Software but not with plant manufacturing. I was recently, asked why should we focus on Software validation when our devices are class 1 device and we have process validation in place. If we put materials and get an expected product then why should we waste time in Software validation. I reminded them about the regulatory requirements and its important because software is constantly changing but other than that, i did not have a solid answer.
Any thoughts!

Regarding software validation where the software is associated with the equipment, it really depends on the specific software and its intended use. If all software related tasks will be verified through your process validation activities, there is no reason to do a separate validation of the software on its own. The software is validated through your IQ and OQ activities. However, if the output of the software cannot be verified through process validation, you need to validate the software. For example, if you have software that performs calculation activities, which are then compared to some specification, you would want to validate that software to ensure the calculations are really providing the correct output.

I hope this helps. Maybe if you tell us the type of equipment you are talking about, we can help further.

Last edited:

yodon

Leader
Super Moderator
Bear in mind that you can scale your validation efforts commensurate with the associated risk.

I might take a mild exception to @indubioush's statement about the software being validated through IQ and OQ. In many cases, I'd probably agree; but that might be painting with too broad a brush. (It also depends on what is done in IQ.) There may be edge cases in the software than need to be assessed.