SOP Numbering - About to change over from QS9000 to ISO 9001

S

sjrutland

Hello all,

I know this will be a very lame question but I need some advice. I am about to change over from QS9000 to ISO9001:2000. I felt this would be a great time to redo my SOP's . I just want to know do I have to number them in sequence or can I number them to match the reference of the iso strandards. Example for Management review the iso reference is 5.6 can I name that
SOP 5.6 and so on? I am sorry if this is very lame. I just could not find any place that said you could or could not do this. I am kinda new to the iso world and do not want to upset my auditor when they come in May. Any advise is appreaciated.

Stan

Al Rosen

Leader
Super Moderator
sjrutland said:
Hello all,

I know this will be a very lame question but I need some advice. I am about to change over from QS9000 to ISO9001:2000. I felt this would be a great time to redo my SOP's . I just want to know do I have to number them in sequence or can I number them to match the reference of the iso strandards. Example for Management review the iso reference is 5.6 can I name that
SOP 5.6 and so on? I am sorry if this is very lame. I just could not find any place that said you could or could not do this. I am kinda new to the iso world and do not want to upset my auditor when they come in May. Any advise is appreaciated.

Stan
There is no requirement to number them anything, so you can do whatever is convenient for you.

I

Ingeniero1

When I started our effort to attain ISO 9001:2000 certification, I numbered the first six procedures to be those required. As has correctly been stated, this is not needed, but it made it easy to remember:
(ASQP is our common prefix for procedures)
ASQP-001 = Control of Documents
ASQP-002 = Control of Records
ASQP-003 = Internal Audits
ASQP-004 = Control of Non-Conforming Product
ASQP-005 = Corrective Action
ASQP-006 = Preventive Action
Some people combine the last two; I opted not to do so.