SPC Data Collection and Control Chart Type question

P

psun03

I am a beginner with SPC and I am having trouble deciding which chart to use. I have been researching on control charts and I can't figure out which is the best type of control chart to use. Either an X Bar Chart or an X Moving Range Chart

Here is the data I am collecting.

I am in the healthcare industry and I am looking at the turn times between cases that go into the OR. For example, one a procedure is done the patient is wheeled out and then the next patient is wheeled in. I am measuring the time between when the first patient wheels out to when the next patient wheels out. There are 20 OR Rooms and each OR has a different number of scheduled cases each day. So OR 1 could have 3 short cases, where OR 15 could have 2 long cases. Also, the type of case as determines the length of the turn time. For example, to prepare the OR for brain surgery takes a lot longer (45 minutes turntime) than eye surgery (15 turn time).

I am averaging the turntime for each day and created a X Bar Chart. My question is am I using the right chart? Should I be distinguishing between surgery types? Brain Surgeries vs Eye surgeries?

Elsmar Forum Sponsor
C

Curtis317

I am a beginner with SPC and I am having trouble deciding which chart to use. I have been researching on control charts and I can't figure out which is the best type of control chart to use. Either an X Bar Chart or an X Moving Range Chart