Starting Supplier Management System in a Company

A

amitnalin

Hi All,
I am just starting out on the implementation of a supplier management system. I request you all to help me in defining the major steps I need to take to establish it.

Thank you in advance for you help.

somashekar

Leader
Admin
Re: Starting Supplier System in a Company

Hi All,
I am just starting out on the implementation of a supplier management system. I request you all to help me in defining the major steps I need to take to establish it.

Attached is the supplier manual of Bell Helicopters. It is a wonderful manual and see it for your understanding and apply stuff to your organization as appropriate.

Attachments

• Supplier Manual.pdf
    1.5 MB · Views: 707

qusys

Trusted Information Resource
Re: Starting Supplier System in a Company

Hi All,

Are you ISO 9001 certified or ISO TS?
I say this because ISO TS is more stringent and requires for the supplier development too.
First of all you should establish the requirement to select your supplier, evaluation and re-evaluation as per 7.4.1 of ISO 9001.
Criteria are up to the organization and I would suggest to assess their criticality vs your business as well as materials/services supplied (raw material, equipment).
Supplier mgmt system may include regular supplier audit, management of the corrective action in case of quality issues ( supplier corrective action response), on site meeting reviewing their perfromance vs agreed indices ( related to quality, cost and method).
As suggestion you may want to receive and evaluate statistical data of their mfg processes ( for instance, Cpk )
A particular attention should be put on sole source suppliers if any for you.
Hope this helps:bigwave:

A

amitnalin

We have been recommended for ISO and have a goal to achieve TS certification in future but the ISO standard is more like a framework.