Statistics and Six Sigma - Newbie Seeking Information and Resources

J

Jimmy Olson

Statistics and 6 Sigma Newbie

Howdy everyone. I was interested in finding out if anyone knew of any good resources for learning the basics of statistics and six sigma.

I am relatively new to quality in a manufacturing environment (I have been in the calibration area) and am trying to learn some of the quality tools used. Right now my role is implementing ISO 9001:2000, but I would like to increase my quality skills (to make myself more valuable :) ).

I keep hearing some of the terminology, but don't really have an understanding of it since I've never had to deal with it. I do have a basic understanding of statistics and numbers from working in the calibration field, but would like to be able to learn all the "tools" that are used in manufacturing. Any information would be greatly appreciated. If you know of any good websites, or can recommend books, or if you have information to share I would be very thankful.

Thanks in advance.

Last edited by a moderator:
Elsmar Forum Sponsor
Thread starter Similar threads Forum Replies Date
J Excellent Resource on Statistics / Lean / Six Sigma Book, Video, Blog and Web Site Reviews and Recommendations 2
O Information on the extent of Statistics in the Six Sigma Green Belt Exam Professional Certifications and Degrees 9
A Six Sigma in terms of Statistics - An Explanation and Discussion Six Sigma 114
R I need Six Sigma and Statistics Jokes Six Sigma 9
A CQE (Certified Quality Engineer) vs. Six Sigma Black or Green Belt and Statistics Professional Certifications and Degrees 14
Richard Regalado What could go wrong with information: Ransomware statistics and facts (2018 to present) IEC 27001 - Information Security Management Systems (ISMS) 0
I Good resources for learning statistics (quality engineering related) Statistical Analysis Tools, Techniques and SPC 10