Search the Elsmar Cove!
**Search ALL of Elsmar.com** with DuckDuckGo including content not in the forum - Search results with No ads.

Statistics - Where to start in ISO 9001?

Hello everybody
I come looking for guide regarding statistical analysis.
Into an ISO 9001 system, I´ve been gathering a lot of data of production, in order to be analyzed to implement improvements.
I have a spreadsheet, with headings like: work orders, date, quantity produced, defective product, operator, machine, time spent in production, days spent in each work order, used raw material (description and quantity) and so on.
My background is not specialized in statistics, I know very little, but I want to start to analyze the data.
I can start to use pareto, histograms, average values, which I already know , but no more.
Could you guide me, where to start , what to do, what to read in order to make very good analysis of such information and
that finally can get sufficient info to be translated to improvement projects?
I know that into statistics , there are a lot of unknown terms for me, but probably are not applied for my purpose.
e.g. Binomial distribution, Box plot, Central limit theorem, Continuous distribution, Geometric distribution, Interquartile range, Pascal distribution
I don´t want to make sophisticated analysis, only those which could help me to improve the production processes.
The idea it is to use the less methodologies but that really can be applied to my business.
Thanks for your inputs.

Bill Levinson

Involved In Discussions
ISO 9001 doesn't really have statistics requirements although IATF 16949 requires activities like measurement systems analysis (ISO 9001 does not). The thing to do in ISO 9001 is to use whatever methods are appropriate to fulfillment of your quality management system's mission. "Defective product" could, for example, be subject to control charts for defects or nonconformances.