SBS - The best value in QMS software

Sterilisation Validation - VDmax for e-beam

J

jampot

Hello
We are considering using e-beam to terminally sterilise a medical device and I wondered if the VDmax method (previously applied to substantiate 25kGy gamma for a different device) can be used to validate this particular sterilisation process?

Any other guidance on the use of e-beam would be appreciated

Thanks in advance
Jampot

Elsmar Forum Sponsor

Al Rosen

Staff member
Super Moderator
This is not an area that I'm an expert in, but I would think you would have to validate the sterilization process of each device unless they are similar enough to be considered a family. Hopefully someone with the experience in this will comment.

M

Microbe

Like Al, I'm not an expert on e-beam, but if you look at ISO11137-2:2006 - Sterilisation of health care products - radiation - part 2 establishing the sterilisation dose it does quote the VDmax method.

Regards

Microbe

K

Kees Fremery

When you look at the scope if the ISO 11137-1 you can see that it covers Gamma radiation and also e-beam.
Using e-beam you do have to consider the transference of radiation sources. This is depending on your product. See 8.4 of ISO11137-1
If you want to make use of the data of the first validation you can find guidance in part 2, chapter 4.4

I hope this helps you.

With kind regards,
Kees Fremery

V

vinodashri

Hello

I have a question. We have validated our product using e beam sterilization. Now we want to consider Gamma sterilization and validate our product. Once we finish validating, Can we alternate between e beam and gamma sterilization for the same product? Since we have validated in both methods, can we use both methods alternately for sterilizing our products.

Please let me know.

Thanks

Last edited by a moderator:

Ronen E

Problem Solver
Staff member
Hi,