Survey's without Response Rate - Surveys distributed by discussion forums

P

podge79

Hi,

Quick question in relation to Survey's if they are distributed via discussion forums you then will not know what the response rate. Can this be classed as a valid why to conduct a survey as really you can'teasure survey bias.

Would appreciate anyone view here.

Thanks in Advance.

Marc

Fully vaccinated are you?
Leader
Re: Survey's without Response Rate

Polls in forums are wildly inaccurate. Rounding errors, ballot stuffers, dynamic IPs, firewalls. Obviously you can not use these poll numbers to do anything important. Same with surveys *distributed* by way of discussion forums.

P

podge79

Hi Marc,

Thanks for the response, the reason I'm asking is as part of a masters thesis I wanted to get a handle on basic industry preceptions in realtion to an area I am studying and wanted to get access to a wider audience, as using email surveys tends to deliever a very low level of responses and thus response rate.

Do you think results from distributing it via a discussion would not be valid in this context then?

Marc

Fully vaccinated are you?
Leader

To be honest I'm not that well versed in analysis, of or validity of, such surveys to answer. What I do believe is that you can not get any data with regard to response rate.

Maybe there's someone here who can give you a real answer.

P

podge79

To be honest I'm not that well versed in analysis, of or validity of, such surveys to answer. What I do believe is that you can not get any data with regard to response rate.

Maybe there's someone here who can give you a real answer.

No Problem Marc, I appreciate the input you have given :thanx:

M

mguilbert

To help with response rates I have seen one company add a drawing for a prize ($50 gift card) for submited responses. I understand as a student that may be difficult. But by using a prize you will also know more about your respondents.

BradM

Leader
Admin