Search the Elsmar Cove!
**Search ALL of Elsmar.com** with DuckDuckGo including content not in the forum - Search results with No ads.

Switching (Migrating) to a new QMS Software Package

Morlock

Involved In Discussions
Hey all!

So, our current QMS software is being phased out by the provider, and we have identified and vetted (through free sandbox trials) a new QMS. This will be my first time being involved in something like this, and as a QA Manager, I will be very involved, so naturally I have some questions before I get elbows-deep.

Does anybody have any tips or tricks for switching from one QMS software to another to minimize the impact and to help make this transition as quick and painless as possible? Is there anything we should be looking at concurrently while we're doing this? For instance, are we able to cull obsolete PNs, documents, etc. at this time, or do we need to migrate those over, too? Is it better to revise the documents to reflect the new QMS software before or after migration?

We're ISO 13485, if that helps. To clarify, we're not looking to make any significant changes to any of our QMS processes, or content changes to any documents (outside of the obvious "how to create a document in [insert QMS platform here]" type documents), we're just migrating to a new QMS hosting platform.

Oh, and a curveball, Our current QMS and the new QMS cannot operate on the same OS, so we're looking at a very-literal "flipping-the-switch" thing, where we have to take one system offline before we bring the other system online. Although the IT guy might have a workaround for this...

Thanks all!

Last edited:

Morlock

Involved In Discussions
Firstly, is this change documented in your management review? Secondly, do you have a plan? Clear responsibilities? Time line? Testing and expected results? Have you considered the consequences of the migration not going to plan? Plan "B"?